Notice & Comment

ACS Writing Competition on Administrative Law, by Debra Perlin

The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy is currently accepting submissions for its thirteenth annual Richard D. Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law, honoring the late Judge Cudahy’s contribution to the field.

The competition is open to all lawyers and law students and seeks submissions related to American regulatory or administrative law, broadly construed. The author of the winning paper in each category (lawyer and law student) will receive a cash prize of $1,500 as well as special recognition at the 2020 ACS National Convention. Coauthored submissions are eligible and if selected, the coauthors will share the prize. For additional information on eligibility and format, please visit ACS’s website.

The 2019 winners of the Cudahy Writing Competition were:

Submissions will be judged on their depth of analysis, quality of writing, readiness for publications, originality, and thoroughness of research. The 2020 Judging Panel is:

  • Jack M. Beermann, Professor of Law, Boston University Law School
  • Hon. David Hamilton, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
  • Jeffrey P Kehne, former Principal, Hill & Kehne LLP
  • Gillian Metzger, Harlan Fiske Stone Professor of Constitutional Law, Columbia Law School
  • Hon. Paul Oetken, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York
  • Allison M. Zieve, Director, Public Citizen Litigation Group

The deadline to apply is Sunday February 2, 2020 at 11:59 PM (in your local time zone).

Debra Perlin is the Director of Policy and Program at the American Constitution Society.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email