Notice & Comment

Call for Papers: Inaugural Administrative Law New Scholarship Roundtable

Following the lead of terrific roundtables/workshops in other fields of law (federal courts, civil procedure, etc.), I’m excited to announce the inaugural Administrative Law New Scholars Roundtable, which will take place next summer with a call for papers deadline in the spring. The first year’s host will be Michigan State. Here are the full details from the call for papers. Definitely consider joining us, as it should be a terrific event.

The Roundtable is the creation of four schools—Michigan State University, University of Michigan, Ohio State University, and University of Wisconsin—each of which has committed to hosting the Roundtable during one of the next four years.

The Roundtable will bring together a mix of emerging and established scholars to present new work on Administrative Law. Participants will present their papers in small panel sessions designed to foster rich discussions with experts in the field and contribute to a vibrant Administrative Law community. Each panel will be led by a distinguished scholar who will facilitate the discussion. Confirmed commentators currently include Michael Asimow (Stanford), Daniel Farber (Berkeley), Kristin Hickman (Minnesota), Gillian Metzger (Columbia), Peter Shane (Ohio State), Glen Staszewski (Michigan State), and Kathryn Watts (Washington). In addition to the paper panels, a lunch program will address current issues in Administrative Law and institutional resources for empirical research projects.

Scholars wishing to participate in the Roundtable and present a paper must submit a one-to-two-page abstract by Friday, March 18, 2016. Applicants should include their title, institutional affiliation, and number of years teaching in the academy. Preference will be given to those who have been teaching nine years or less in a tenure-track position. Abstracts should be sent to Michael Sant’Ambrogio. You may also contact Michael with any questions you may have about the Roundtable.

The Roundtable will provide meals for all participants. Participants must cover their own travel and lodging costs. We will reserve a block of reasonably priced rooms at a local hotel in advance of the Roundtable.

We encourage you to forward this flyer to anyone who might be interested in submitting an article for the Roundtable. As you can see, we’ve assembled a terrific group of distinguished commentators and the Roundtable promises to be a memorable event.

Michael Sant’Ambrogio,

On behalf of the Roundtable Host Committee
Nicholas Bagley, University of Michigan
Michael Sant’Ambrogio, Michigan State University
Miriam Seifter, University of Wisconsin
Peter Shane, Ohio State University
Glen Staszewski, Michigan State University
Christopher Walker, Ohio State University


Print Friendly, PDF & Email