Notice & Comment

ABA AdLaw Section Releases Report to the President-Elect

The ABA Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice has just released its 2016 Report to the President-Elect on Improving the Administrative Process.  In keeping with its practice in previous election years, the Section has delivered the report to the transition teams of the two major party candidates for President.

I had the good fortune of working with Paul R. Noe as a co-lead of the Ad Hoc Committee on Administrative Law Transition that put the report together.  Over the course of more than a year, the committee worked to craft non-partisan, consensus-based recommendations on a wide variety of important administrative law issues that the new administration will face.  To ensure completion of the report well ahead of the election, the Council of the Section endorsed the recommendations in principle on August 6, 2016 and finally approved the report on September 9, 2016.

The committee members brought deep expertise and diverse perspectives to the project.  These members included:

Jack M. Beermann
Jeffrey Bossert Clark
Cary Coglianese
John F. Cooney
Michael A. Fitzpatrick
Michael Eric Herz
Jeffrey Lubbers
Roger Nober
David Rostker
Peter L. Strauss
Christopher J. Walker

I’ll have more to say about the report (and the successes of the Section’s previous such reports) in the near future.  In the meantime, my heartfelt thanks to all who worked on this project and made its completion possible, including Paul, the members of the committee, Renée M. Landers (the Section’s Chair), Hon. Jeffrey A. Rosen (the Section’s Last Retiring Chair), and the members of the Section Council.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email