Notice & Comment

ACS Writing Competition on Administrative Law, by Debra Perlin

The American Constitution Society for Law and Policy is currently accepting submissions for its twelfth annual Richard D. Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law, honoring the late Judge Cudahy’s contribution to the field.  The competition is open to all lawyers and law students and seeks submissions related to American regulatory or administrative law, broadly construed.  The author of the winning paper in each category (lawyer and law student) will receive a cash prize of $1,500 as well as special recognition at the 2019 ACS National Convention.  Coauthored submissions are eligible and if selected, the coauthors will share the prize.  For additional information on eligibility and format, please visit ACS’s website.

The 2018 winners of the Cudahy Writing Competition were:

Submissions will be judged on their depth of analysis, quality of writing, readiness for publications, originality, and thoroughness of research.  The 2019 Judging Panel is:

  • Jack M. Beermann, Professor of Law, Boston University Law School
  • Hon. David Hamilton, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
    • Jeffrey P Kehne, former Principal, Hill & Kehne LLP
  • Hon. Paul Oetken, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York
    • Amy Widman, Deputy Director, National Center for Access to Justice at Fordham Law School
  • Allison M. Zieve, Director, Public Citizen Litigation Group

The deadline to apply is February 3, 2019.


Debra Perlin is Director of Policy and Program at the American Constitution Society.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email